About St Paul’s

St Paul’s is a Church of England church within the Diocese of Canterbury. The parish that we seek to serve extends north from Maidstone prison towards Penenden Heath but many who worship with us live in other parts of Maidstone and beyond. We’re part of Maidstone Deanery, which covers most of the town, and Churches Together in Maidstone, which goes even wider.

St Paul's Church, Maidstone

“Becoming Christian Community – Serving the Wider Community.” That’s the motto we’ve been trying to live up to in recent years. “Becoming” because we know we’re not there yet. Being Christian means expecting to change and be changed for the better, and that’s the journey we’re on. “Serving” because that’s what Jesus did. Keeping the building watertight and accessible for a wide variety of community uses is the main way we serve our community.

We laugh a lot, we weep a little, we’re learning to trust each other. Best of all, there’s lots of quiet care that goes on, as people look after friends and neighbours who need them. It’s an exciting time in the life of St Paul’s. We’re not exactly sure where God is taking us. But we’re hoping that lots of people will join us for the ride. So come as you are… but don’t necessarily expect to stay as you were.

St Paul’s church is managed by a leadership team and a ministry leadership team. Meet our leadership team members below.

Who’s Who

Rev. Anthea Mitchell(Priest) Assistant Curate anthea.mitchell@sky.com07764 587976
Gwyn MacphersonGwyn McPhersonAuthorised Lay Minister
Jenny CliftonJenny CliftonAuthorised Lay Minister
Mark TurnerMark TurnerChurch Warden01622 206529
Brian BeswickBrian BeswickChurch Warden07763 519071


Please contact the church office if you wish to contact a member of the PCC.

  • Brian Beswick – Churchwarden
  • Jenny Clifton – Pastoral Assistant
  • Chris Gillespie
  • Jan Hudson – Gift Aid Secretary
  • Paul Hudson
  • Ann Lewis – Safeguarding Co-ordinator 
  • Gwyn McPherson 
  • Rev. Anthea Mitchell       
  • Allert Riepma
  • Rosemary Riepma
  • Maureen Thomas                                        
  • Mark Turner – Churchwarden      
  • Jenny Turner – PCC Secretary
  • Sue Willmott – Treasurer